Bach – Concerto for Violin and Oboe in C minor BMV 1060

by Max Derrickson

Concerto for Violin and Oboe in C minor BMV 1060
1. Allegro
2. Adagio
3. Allegro


Johann Sebastian Bach   (b Eisenach, 21 March 1685; Leipzig, 28 July 1750)


[. . . ] The “concerto” form as used by Bach grew out of the Baroque Italian “concerto grosso” which was perfected by Vivaldi (the Four Seasons).  Though Bach did not invent, per se, any new forms he certainly set new melodic and harmonic standards for existing ones.  This concerto is a wonderful example.  As in most of these concerti, the outer movements are in ritornello form, where the opening statement (the ritornello) returns in various keys and guises throughout the movement (this is similar to the later rondo form, or ABACAB, and so on, the ritornello being section A).  In the first movement, the ritornello is heard in its full form only at the beginning and end, as its echo-like last bars lends itself to many musical manipulations.  The gem of this concerto, however, may be the second movement [. . .]