Max Derrickson

Writing Music Program Notes for Over 20 Years

Tag: Rimsky-Korsakov

Le coq d’or (The Golden Cockerel) – Suite from the Opera

Near the very end of his life, Rimsky-Korsakov had decided to hang up his pen after finishing his 14th opera, The Legend of the Invisible City of Kitezh and the Maiden Fevronija (1905). But then Russia’s political world began to disintegrate all around him….

Rimsky-Korsakov – Symphony No. 2 “Antar” Op. 9

Nikolay Rimsky-Korsakov     (b Tikhvin, March 18, 1844; d Lyubensk, nr Luga [nowPskov district], June 21, 1908) Symphony No. 2 “Antar” Op. 9 1. Largo- Allegro giocoso 2. Allegro 3. Allegro risoluto all marcia 4. Allegretto vivace Given to a lively imagination and a lust for travel, young Nikolay Rimsky-Korsakov’s first career was exploring the world as a […]